Botanical Garden of Tver State University
 Founded in 1879

eng | рус
About The GardenPlant of The GardenDepartmentsBiodiversity ConservationStaffEcological EducationFor Garden Visitors
HomeEvents CalendarProjectsGarden in artIndex SeminumGarden Friends SocietyServices
 
                        News – Mosses in gardens: myths and reality        

 

Mosses in gardens: myths and reality

 

20.09.2012 Mosses in gardens: myths and reality. The article of researchers of the Botanical Garden of Tver State University Ulyana Spirina and Yuri Naumtseva was published in the last journal of the BGCI - BGjournal (vol 14, №2). This article is really a great success! This is the result of more than 20 years of research on the possibilities of preserving living collections of bryophytes in botanical gardens.
Until now, the Botanical Garden of the Tver State University remains the only botanical garden in the world in a temperate climate, where there is a stable live collection and an exposition of bryophytes of this scale. The very title of the article speaks for itself! Indeed, the conservation of bryophytes ex-situ in the form of living collections for a long time remained rather from the field of myths, and not reality. "Kneel before plants" - an integrated scientific, educational and socio-cultural project, which is consistently implementing the Botanical Garden of Tver State University since 1994. It was then that the employees of the Botanical Garden of the Tver State University took up the development of techniques for the cultivation and conservation of bryophytes ex situ, which was virtually unknown and not tested in a temperate climate. A long way, a lot of problems and unknown challenges were overcome. More than 50 species of bryophytes of different systematic and ecological groups we grow at the moment in the Garden collection at different expositions. Especially for exhibiting bryophytes and other spore groups, a unique "Secret Garden" display was created.
But this is only part of the problem! After all, all the articles of this issue of BGjournal are united by a common and somewhat unexpected topic - "Conservation horticulture: Making a garden a botanic garden"!!! The theme sounds unexpectedly – conservation gardening in the gardens. But this is actual, very relevant at the present stage. Ex situ plant biodiversity conservation in botanical gardens is a priority at the present stage - what is it? First of all, banks of seeds, spores and tissue cultures! It's innovative, it's fashionable, it's technological! But are there positive affirmative answers to the main question - is there any guarantee that the material that was stored in such banks within a few decades can be adapted to the real conditions of growth and life of the plants themselves in the future? Not only we, but the entire international community of botanical gardens, are confident that at the present stage of the development of botanical gardens we should not lose the classic skills of gardening, growing and preserving living plant collections. Especially some groups of plants, for which these techniques are sometimes created and developed for the first time. As it was done in the Botanical Garden of the Tver State University for Bryophytes.
For our Garden mosses in the garden are not a myth it's reality. Complex, but simply amazing, beautiful and in demand reality. We are sincerely pleased that our work in this direction was in demand, and most importantly understood, not only by the narrow professional community of bryologists or even botanists, but by ordinary people - guests of our Garden. "The Secret Garden" is one of the most loved and visited expositions in the Garden. And definitely we are pleased that in this issue of BGjournal the article from our Garden is represented in the truly "star" company of gardens and specialists from the botanical gardens of Edinburgh and Kew, Oakland and Phoenix, Santiago, etc. It is an honor for us that we were able to adequately represent the Russian botanical gardens.
Mosses in the gardens are a wonderful reality! Beautiful in its filigree and exquisite sophistication. Mosses in gardens - Botanical science that opens people truly secret, but such a wonderful world of plant life. Mosses in the gardens invite people to kneel before the plants!

 

Reference to the article: http://garden.tversu.ru/documents/bgjournal142.pdf

Copyright © garden.tversu.ru

Powered by Kuzin R.I.

Botanical Garden of Tver State University

Ботанический сад ТВЕРСКОГО ГОСУДАРСТВЕННОГО УНИВЕРСИТЕТА
 Основан в 1879 году

рус | eng
О саде Карта – план садаНовостиОтделыСохранение биоразнообразияСотрудникиЭкологическое образованиеПосетителям сада
ГлавнаяКалендарь событийПроектыСтатьиСад глазами художниковIndex SeminumОбщество друзей садаУслуги
 
                        Новости – Мхи в садах: мифы и реальность        

Мхи в садах: мифы и реальность

 

 

 

 

 

20.09.2017 Мхи в садах: мифы и реальность. Статья научных сотрудников Ботанического сада Тверского государственного университета Ульяны Спириной и Юрия Наумцева опубликована в последнем журнале Международного совета ботанических садов - BGjournal (выпуск 14, №2). Эта статья по-настоящему большой успех! Это результат более чем 20 лет исследований возможностей сохранения живых коллекций мохообразных в ботанических садах.
До настоящего момента Ботанический сад Тверского госуниверситета остается единственным ботаническим садом в мире в умеренном климате, где существует устойчивая живая коллекция и экспозиция мохообразных подобного масштаба. Уже само название статьи говорит само за себя! Действительно, сохранение мохообразных ex-situ в виде живых коллекций долгое время оставалось скорее из области мифов, а не реальности. «Встаньте на колени перед растениями» - комплексный научный, образовательный, просветительский и социально-культурный проект, который последовательно реализует Ботанический сад Тверского госуниверситета с 1994 года. Именно тогда сотрудники Сада взялись за разработку методик выращивания и сохранения мохообразных ex situ, которая была практически неизвестна и не апробирована в условиях умеренного климата. Долгий путь, множество проблем и неизвестных вызовов были преодолены. Более 50 видов мохообразных разных систематических и экологических групп мы выращиваем в настоящий момент в коллекции Сада на разных экспозициях. Специально для экспонирования мохообразных и других групп споровых был создан уникальный в своем роде дисплей «Тайный сад».
Но это только часть проблемы! Ведь все статьи этого выпуска BGjournal объединены общей и несколько неожиданной темой – «Сохранение садоводства: создание сада в ботаническом саду»!!! Тема звучит неожиданно – Сохранения садоводства в садах. Но это актуально, очень актуально на современном этапе. Сохранение биоразнообразия растений ex situ в ботанических садах на современном этапе в качестве приоритета – что это? В первую очередь банки семян, спор и культур тканей! Это инновационно, это модно, это  технологично! Вот только есть ли утвердительно положительные ответы на главный вопрос – есть ли гарантия того, что материал, который был сохранен в таких банках в течении нескольких десятилетий сможет быть адаптирован к реальным условиям роста и жизни самих растений в будущем? Не только мы, но все международное сообщество ботанических садов уверено в том, что на современном этапе развития ботанических садов мы не должны потерять классические навыки садоводства, выращивания и сохранения живых коллекций растений. Особенно некоторых групп растений, для которых данные методики стоит иногда создавать и развивать впервые. Как это было сделано в Ботаническом саду Тверского госуниверситета для мохообразных.
Для нашего Сада мхи в саду это не миф это реальность. Сложная, но просто удивительная, прекрасная и востребованная реальность. Нам искренне приятно, что наша работа в этом направлении оказалась востребована, а самое главное понята, не только узким профессиональным сообществом бриологов или даже ботаников, а обычными людьми – гостями нашего Сада. «Тайный сад» одна из самых любимых и посещаемых экспозиций в Саду. И определенно нам приятно, что в этом выпуске BGjournal статья от нашего Сада представлена в поистине «звездной» компании садов и специалистов из ботанических садов Эдинбурга и Кью, Окленда и Феникса, Сантьяго и др. Для нас честь, что мы сумели достойно представить российские ботанические сады.
Мхи в садах – прекрасная реальность! Прекрасная в своей филигранности и изысканной утонченности. Мхи в садах – ботаническая наука, которая открывает людям поистине тайный, но такой прекрасный мир жизни растений. Мхи в садах приглашают людей встать на колени перед растениями!

 

Cсылка на статью: http://garden.tversu.ru/documents/bgjournal142.pdf

Все права защищены © garden.tversu.ru

Разработал Кузин Р.И.

Ботанический сад Тверского государственного университета